Fast Man, Raider Man  - Black, Frank

empty starempty starempty starempty starempty star  (0 review)  Write a review    Add to Wishlist  JB Admin
Black, Frank - Fast Man, Raider Man
 Subject to supplier availability
This is an estimate only, shipping to your postcode may be more or less. Exact shipping charge is shown at checkout.

Home Delivery

Special Order: Subject to supplier availability

Pickup Not

Following the critical success of 2005's "Honeycomb", Pixies icon Frank Black releases his ambitious new double CD "Fast Man / Raider Man". Paired again with producer Jon Tiven, the 27-song CD was recorded over a two-year period at studios in Nashville and Los Angeles, and slams a bit harder than the laid-back "Honeycomb".
"Fastman/Raiderman" features some of the most celebrated players in music, including Levon Helm from The Band, Tom Petersson from Cheap Trick, Heartbreaker drummer Steve Ferrone, the legendary Al Kooper, honky-tonk hero Marty Brown, songwriting enigma P.F. Sloan, and Simon Kirke from Bad Company and Free, as well as "Honeycomb" 'returnees' Steve Cropper, Reggie Young, Buddy Miller, Spooner Oldman and Chester Thompson, to name just a few.
Songs on "Fastman/Raiderman" include the somewhat bizarre 'Kiss My Ring', the almost hallucinogenic 'Dog Sleep', and the overlay of the lyrically obscure and the bodypunch, visceral groove of 'In the Time of My Ruin'. 'Highway to Lowdown', 'Sad Man's Song', and 'Where the Wind Is Going' were originally recorded for "Honeycomb" but didn't match that album's laid-back feel so have been in hibernation until now. 'Fitzgerald' and 'Elijah' look back to when Black and the Pixies were just beginning to turn rock music inside out from their home base in Boston, and 'My Terrible Ways' is a true, tragic story of heroism in the devastation in Mississippi from Hurricane Katrina. As Black is fond of doing, some of the new songs were recorded in a single 24-hour marathon session with musicians coming and going in three shifts and only one two-hour break for some shuteye.

Track Listing

Disc 1:

  1. If Your Poison Gets You
  2. Johnny Barleycom
  3. Fast Man
  4. You Can't Crucify Yourself
  5. Dirty Old Town
  6. Wanderlust
  7. Seven Days
  8. Raider Man
  9. End Of The Summer
  10. Dog Sleep
  11. When The Paint Grows Darker Still
  12. I'm Not Dead ( I'm In Pittsburgh)
  13. Golden Shore

Disc 2:

  1. In The Time Of My Ruin
  2. Down To You
  3. Highway To Lowdown
  4. Kiss My Ring
  5. My Terrible Ways
  6. Fitzgerald
  7. Elijah
  8. IT's Not Just Your Moment
  9. Real El Ray
  10. Where The Wind Is Going
  11. Holland Town
  12. Sad Old World
  13. Don't Cry That Way
  14. Fare The Well
empty starempty starempty starempty starempty star  (0 review)  Write a review    Add to Wishlist  JB Admin
Be the first to write a review for this title
Related Offers
B-roomAntiphon (Vinyl)Melancholy Connection, TheDifferent Compilation, A


$19.99 (AUD)

Antiphon (Vinyl)

$37.99 (AUD)

Melancholy Connection, The

$26.99 (AUD)

Renowned Swedish punk outfit, Millencolin, celebrate twenty years with the release of The Melancholy Connection. This assemblage of b-sides, a follow up to 1999's The Melancholy Collection, features two brand new songs and twelve rarities spanning from their break-out album, Pennybridge Pioneers, through today.

Different Compilation, A

$18.99 (AUD)

Pop-punk pioneers take 24 of their most iconic songs back into the studio.


cartshowing 0 of 0 items
+ freight0.00


View Full Cart
View Wish List
My Account
Order History

Now accepting PayPal